How to Use Your 7 Chakras to Get Healthy and Balanced

The article may contain affiliate links.


It is known that in ancient Indian belief, energy flows through the human body, keeping it in balance and illnesses away. The seven chakras are located in several places of the body, not physically, but imaginative, as they are part of the subtle body, not the physical one.

Even today, practitioners that follow the indications of Indian beliefs regarding health and wellbeing, use the chakra healing to rebalance their body. Anyone can do so once you have learned where the chakras are and what are they good for, and what to do to rebalance the energy flow.

What are chakras in the human body? Here is a good definition from

Chakras, by definition, are energy centers within the human body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. Each of them has its own vibrational frequency, which is depicted through a particular chakra color, and governs specific functions that help make you, well, human.

So why are these chakras so important when it comes to the energy of our body? Their importance is given by the fact that they considered being nodes for the energetic flow, just like a highway node is for the traffic of an area. It helps redirect the energy towards the area you need it.

As the infographic below shows, there are 7 distinct chakras in our body. You need to know their location, so you can visualize, and see how they can contribute, before using them for energy therapy.

The 7 Chakra Points & Their Colors

Image credit:


How Different Chakras Affect You

There is the crown chakra, located right above your head, like an aura of energy. It is helpful when we are suffering from stress and depression, when we are confused, or feel hopeless. It works by increasing consciousness, makes us feel hopeful, triggers our imagination and improves spirituality.

Never be afraid to sit awhile and think.  ~Lorraine Hansberry


Next, it is the third eye chakra, the one that is connected with our mind. We should use it when we have trouble sleeping when we find it hard to focus and use our judgment, or when we feel our intuition stuck. It will let the intuition and creativity loose, and improve our thoughts and dreams, helping us think more positive.

Trust yourself.  You know more than you think you do.  ~Benjamin Spock


Going down on the body we will find the throat chakra, the area that makes us feel insecure, anxious or even paralyzed when the energy flow is not working as it should. You can activate it when you wish to feel more secure about yourself when you want to be a good leader, and when you feel that you need improvement in your communication.

To speak and to speak well are two things.  A fool may talk, but a wise man speaks.  ~Ben Jonson


Then there is the heart chakra, a regulator of connection and love feelings, the safety giver and compassion trigger. It is extremely useful when we feel rejected, that there is no hope or when we are disconnected with what is happening around us.

When your heart speaks, take good notes.  ~Judith Campbell


The solar plexus chakra is in the area of your stomach, a few inches up from your belly button. It helps when we suffer from eating disorders, when we feel anxiety and fear, or when we tend to lose control over something. It enhances your gut feelings, chases away the fears and makes you feel in charge of the situation.

I am not afraid of storms for I am learning how to sail my ship.  ~Louisa May Alcott


The sacral chakra, right where your bellybutton is, is responsible for making us feel confident, creative, and for improving our sexuality. It is useful when we are dealing with addictions and dependence of any kind, and when we feel lonely or have other emotional imbalances.

Sex is emotion in motion.  ~Mae West


And finally, the root chakra, the seventh chakra, located where the genital organs are. It is the one that raises the feeling of security and survival, and revives our natural instinct. Ideal for moments when we feel anxious and unstable when we feel depleted of energy and without a desire to go on.

There is deep wisdom within our very flesh, if we can only come to our senses and feel it.  ~Elizabeth A. Behnke


How to open your chakras? How can we make them work?


To use the chakras, you will have to open them first. Once they are opened, the energy will flow through them and bring your body back to balance, removing any negative feeling or problems that you may be facing.

Each of them has a particular color, to which it will react, so using that color, and things that represent the color will help you open a chakra. Of course, there are positions, meditation, yoga, visualization, and other things that can be done with the same purpose, but you will have to do some research about those first.

So, getting back to colors and certain items that you can use, let’s see what can be done to open the chakras, something even a beginner should be able to do.

For instance, the crown chakra loves the color purple, so use violet flowers or decorative items around the house or office. You could also wear amethyst and eat figs, which are fruits with the same color.

In the case of the third-eye chakra, an intense shade of blue will help you. Either you meditate to connect with the deep blue color of the evening sky, use lavender oils and wear azurite.

The throat chakra uses blue as well, but a lighter shade. You can use lapis-lazuli gems, eat blueberries and try to envision the broad ocean. The heart chakra likes green, so Jade should be your gem choice, wear and decorate your space with green, and eat green veggies.

The solar plexus chakra, as you may suspect, is connected with the color yellow. A bright yellow citrine crystal is helpful, the use of lemon in your drinking water and decoration with yellow items your surrounding space can do the same job.

The sacral chakra needs orange, so try wearing clothing items that are orange, use the same colors for decoration and even add some orange elements to your food.

And, finally, the root chakra needs red. A garnet stone, red decorative items around you, and any red berries will help out.

You do not have to stay still when or after opening a chakra, as you can continue with your daily activities. Still, you will have to be more aware of your body, because visualization is crucial in this process.

As you can see, the easiest ways are opening chakras with colors or with stones, while trying to imagine the position of these points in your body. Since this is about the non-physical body, everything takes place at a mental level.

Do you need a guide? Try this chakra balancing meditation


Visualizing the chakras, the energy flow, them opening, everything setting into balance, so don’t expect to feel anything physically. You will feel your mood change, into better, once you have managed to open them and allow energy to flow properly.

Do you want to know what your dominant chakra is? Take this poll!


Did you find this post about the chakra system useful? Share with your friends!


  1. Amelia Atmawijaya
  2. Swami gorakhnath
    • James

Write a Comment